Writing

I have always had an active and vivid imagination. From a very young age, I began creating stories in my mind. It wasn’t until after I graduated high school, however, that I began to write down my stories and poems. I write in solitude, but I love the intimacy of sharing my writing. I love that my characters come alive in other peoples’ imaginations. I love that the written word survives history and opens the door into the future. I love and appreciate that a story is still welcomed in the rush of the present.

I keep a notebook near so I can write down ideas and inspirations. My work tend to cross genres, and I do not like limiting my characters. My imagination has no boundaries, and it is not unusual for three-five stories to be unfolding in my mind at one time. In my writing, I love visiting history, exploring the world, inspiring emotions, engendering personalities not just characters, and creating worlds within worlds. I love to bestow my characters with unique plights and gifts, place them in intriguing worlds with distinct plots.

My three most recent books fall mainly in the horror genre. My stories were influenced greatly by experiences I had as a young child, the epic battle of good and evil, and my fascination with the paranormal. My curiosity to explore the minds and hearts of those who lived centuries ago influenced the historical aspect of my work. The aesthetics of fashion, architecture; and dramatic human experience influence the gritty realism in my writing. The seen and unseen power of our universe inspires the magical realism in my work. The seduction of emotions and the power of love influence the romance in what I write. My love for researching and expanding my knowledge inspires and challenges me to create rich stories with well-developed characters.

My series “Montenegro” was born from a love for Gothic architecture, mystery and suspense, the macabre, history, magic, and the supernatural. My desire for Victor Montenegro, the illusionist, to be timeless inspired the vampire theme of the series.

 

Buy me a coffee. Thank you!